Monthly Wrap Ups

May Wrap-Up: What I’ve Read!

Are you ready for this because, I’ll be honest with you, I wasn’t aware of how many books I’d read this month until I sat down and wrote this list. It’s a big one!

***

may17tbr

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

I finished this book in the first few days of the month and just loved it. It completely lived up to the hype and I feel so glad to have read this book! Review here.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

My first audiobook of the month and what a compelling one it was! I was unsure what to expect from Laini Taylor after her other series, but I was pleasantly surprised. I really enjoyed this read! Review here.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

This was my one BIG read of the month and I’m really glad I’ve read it. I found this one so much more engaging than the first book! I’m hoping to have finished this series next month. Read my review here.

thesunisalsoastar

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

I decided to read this audiobook on a bit of a whim after hearing a few seconds and finding the narration to be so enthralling! Full of loveable characters and a really prominent story – one of my favourite books from this month! Review here!

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

This was the first book this month where it took me a little while to get into it. I love a good retelling, and this one gives an inventive spin to a well-told tale. After reaching middle point, I sped read to the end and found it to be a nice, fun read, but nothing really groundbreaking.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

I had bought this for my eReader a little while ago and felt I needed something different to cleanse my reading palate. I had just read 4 YA stories on the trot – I needed a break. I found this to be really compelling, very truthful and eye-opening. I definitely want to read more thoughts on mental health from other viewpoints now.

The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

My third and final audiobook choice for the month. It’s been a minute since I’ve read literary fiction, so it’s taken me a while to get into it.

nimona

Nimona: Graphic Novel by Noelle Stevenson

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

What a fun and quirky read this was! I really enjoyed this graphic novel and this genre is really starting to become a favourite of mine!

Furthermore by Taherah Mafi

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

I haven’t got too far into this one yet, but I’m enjoying it so far. It’s been a while since I’ve read middle grade, so it’s fun being back in that world.

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Read/Unread/Currently Reading

I just haven’t been in the mood for this read this month, which is so disappointing. I’ve felt a bit all over the place with my TBR this month, so hopefully it’ll slot into another TBR soon and we’ll be back on track!

***

Phew! What a lot of books and reading completed this month! Yay! Hopefully it’ll stay this way as we head into summer!

What’s been your favourite read this month?! I’m always looking for good recommendations!

Leave a Reply

