Bookish

Bookish Inspirations: Anne with an E

As a recently big fan of Anne of Green Gables, I was really looking forward to the new Netflix show ‘Anne with an E’ (also just called Anne on other platforms, I think). I watched the first two episodes and was thinking, ‘What is going on? This is so different!’. It’s definitely a darker retelling, but I don’t think that’s too bad a thing. I loved the book for it’s sweetness and cheerful disposition, but it’s interesting to see her story from a different, darker perspective, that might have been swept aside in the real story.

Basically, I liked it. I’ll be watching for more episodes. I thought I’d made a Bookish Inspirations post on it. Let’s go!

annewithane

Country Living: I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

I kept thinking about this book whilst watching, and remembering all the nooks and crannies of that house, and the houses around them.

The Families You Make: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Anne is an orphan and thankfully get’s to live with some lovely people. It’s true what’s said – friends are the family you make. This is especially true in SoC; they are an odd bunch, but still a family.

Kindred Spirits: Bossypants and Yes Please

Amy Poehler and Tina Fey are kindred spirits and you can’t tell me otherwise. Both of these books are brilliant if you’re looking for something laugh out loud funny!

Hit with Slate: Harry Potter by JK Rowling

Can you not imagine Hermione just finally getting riled up at Ron and hitting him over the head with a slate? I totally can! These two bicker like nothing else, and so do Anne and Gilbert. They have such good chemistry on the show; I feel like the show really came alive when Gilbert turned up!

Puffed Sleeves: Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I like to think that if Anne could see Scarlett’s outfits in Caraval, she’d just be gushing and drooling on the floor. If they ever make that book into a movie, the costume design will be wonderful.

Imagination: My Grandmother Sends Her Regards… by Fredrik Backman

I couldn’t forget about this book here. Elsa and Anne could probably be put down as kindred spirits too, because they are so alike. Determined, feisty and adorable. Elsa lives inside her head just as Anne does, and some of my favourite parts of the show are where Anne shows us all that’s running around inside her head.

***

There we go! Some bookish possibilities for you if you’re missing the show and waiting for new episodes. Have fun reading!

Leave a Reply

