Top Ten Tuesdays

TTT: Best Dads in Books!

Alrighty, here’s the Father’s Day freebie for Top Ten Tuesday. I made this list and realised that I haven’t read too many books (that I can remember, anyway) which have great Dads in them. That makes me sad. So if you’ve got any recommendations, please send them my way! Here we go!

ttt-jun13-17

Mr Bennet in Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I love Mr Bennet. He’s sarcastic and funny, and even though he can be quite blase at times, he does really love his daughters. He also has to be a good man to put up with Mrs Bennet!

Daniel in All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

This is a recent read and I just loved how dedicated Daniel was to his daughter, and how he spent so much of his time trying to make sure his daughter’s life was the best it could be. Such a sad story, but such a good, loving parent.

Hans Hubermann in The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I couldn’t do this list without mentioning my love for Hans. He is the ultimate Dad. Kindhearted and loving, with a little bit of roughness around the edges. He made Leisel’s life so much better, and he will always have a place in my bookish heart!

Matthew in Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery

I loved watching how Matthew fell in love with Anne in this story, and how she really brought him out of his shell and helped him find ways to communicate with others. He’s a different man by the end of the book and it’s completely Anne’s influence, which is lovely. He just wants Anne to be happy!

Arthur Avery in Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I swung back and forth about putting Arthur on this list, but ultimately I believe he wants his daughters to be happy and feel good in themselves, and I think that’s something a father really needs to believe.

Big Mav in The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Lastly, Big Mav seemed like the kind of Dad you needed in your corner. He helps with those difficult decisions and shows his daughter how to stand up for what she believes in. He might not have always been around, but he clearly loves his daughter and wants to support her in her decisions (even if he isn’t very impressed with her boyfriend, haha!).

***

What Dads would you have put on this list?! I found this one pretty tricky but it was lovely to look back at my reading and see what Fab Dads were there. Happy Father’s Day on Sunday, everyone! Here’s to the men – related or not – that make childrens’ lives better!

Leave a Reply

