Bookish

Favourite Books: Spring 2017!

Following on from my Winter Favourites post, here’s some of my favourites from the season of Spring! I’ve enjoyed so many of the books I’ve read in the last few months that this might be a tricky one! But we’ll crack on with it anyway!

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor5 StarsReview

I wasn’t sure what to expect from a new read from Laini Taylor, but I was so pleased. It’s got beautifully atmospheric writing, the loveliness of build ups to a ship, and a unique plot. Yes, some parts were slow, but if you enjoy lovely writing – like I do – this should definitely be put on your TBR.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr 5 StarsReview

I had been wanting to read this book for ages and finally got around to it in April. I’m so glad I did. It was such a wonderful, heartbreaking story, and an interesting perspective of wartime literature. And yes, I did cry.

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas4.5 StarsReview

Such a powerful book with such powerful characters. So real. So relevant. I wish this book had been around longer than it has, so it could have been spreading its message for much longer. Drop everything and read this.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig4.5 StarsReview

One of the only non-fictions books I’ve read so far this year, but I’m so happy I tried this one out. It was honest and hopeful and everything you’d want in a book exploring such an important issue like mental health. If you’re looking for something about that topic, this is a brilliant place to start.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon4.5 StarsReview

I’d been told I’d love this book, and I did. I was sceptical because I wasn’t really a fan of Everything, Everything, but this book totally won me over. I loved the main characters and the host of side characters, whose stories were heartfelt and real. It just made me smile and that’s all I really want from a contemporary novel.

+ a reread: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak5 starsReview

For it being one of my favourite books, I feel like I haven’t read this book enough. So I gave it a reread and can seriously say it’s one of my real favourites. Favourite favourites. I read it a little bit All the Light and, let me tell you, I felt emotionally drained that month. A brilliant read for anyone who hasn’t picked it up yet!

***

There we are – my favourite reads from Spring! I couldn’t pick 5, so here are 6. Here’s hoping Summer brings a host of wonderful reads my way and yours. What were your favourite Spring reads?

Leave a Reply

