Reviews

Review: Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick.

So, after months of seeing this sitting on my shelves and (if I’m completely honest) kinda forgetting about it, I figured it was time to pick up this read. It was a cracker!

scrappylittlenobody

Spoiler Free Review

Title: Scrappy Little Nobody 

Author: Anna Kendrick

Published: Touchstone Books, 2016

Pages: 275

Some links: Goodreads and Amazon

***

(from GR) A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award-nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.

Enter Anna’s world and follow her rise from “scrappy little nobody” to somebody who dazzles on the stage, the screen, and now the page—with an electric, singular voice, at once familiar and surprising, sharp and sweet, funny and serious (well, not that serious).

***

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this read, except from funny. I knew it was going to be funny. Personally, I find Anna Kendrick hilarious and let’s be honest, I wouldn’t have bought the book otherwise. But, then again, I am always a bit sceptical about people bringing out books when they are so young and their lives seem to have only just begun. I was thinking, What can Anna Kendrick talk about when it feels like her career has just started? Turns out, she’s got quite a lot to say.

Now, let’s be clear. Nothing that you read here is that groundbreaking. Given that the last non-fiction/autobiographical book I read was Matt Haig’s Reasons to Stay Alive, I wasn’t expecting this to be on the same plain. And it wasn’t. But that was okay. I didn’t come to this book wanting the same things – I wanted fun and silliness with a little bit of seriousness and that’s what I got. So I was a happy reader.

Anna recounts her rise from Maine teen to award shows and premieres. She talks of losing friends and losing family members. She talks of love and sex and how mixed up things can become. There was a little bit of almost every topic. But every topic was touched upon with that Kendrick directness and wit that people have come to love, and it had me smiling and laughing from the first page.

I actually read this via audio book, and I think it made the experience even better. I love hearing people tell their own stories, and Anna’s comedic timing and way of speaking made her stories even more fun. The only thing I really lost out in this format was looking at the pictures throughout the book, but as I had a real copy at home, I was able to flip through those later. It was all good.

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Because I was looking for something lighthearted and hilarious, and that’s what I got. It felt like her: she seemed genuine and chatty, and that’s what I want from a book like this. A good read as you head into summer!

Have you read this? What did you think? I feel like I’ve read a few autobiographies from woman in TV now, and this one was just as good as some of the others!

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

