Bookish

My Top 5 Travel Reads!

I love to travel. Love, love, love it. If I won the lottery tomorrow, you better bet that I’m hopping on a plane for a year and visiting all the places on my bucket list. I didn’t travel outside of the UK for most of my life until I turned 19 and went on a girl’s holiday. After that, I had been bitten by the bug and I’m obsessed. I don’t go as much as I’d want to , but it’s something that I really want to do more of.

And what’s better than travel, to give you lots of reading time?! Whether it’s train rides or plane rides or sitting on the beach, it’s lovely to have the sun on your face and a book in your hand.

Since I’m jetting off very soon for a few holidays this summer, it got me thinking about 1) what books I’m taking on my trip (bring on the July TBR guys!) and 2) what books I’ve really enjoyed on my previous travels. Hence this post: my top 5 travel reads (from my travels so far). I hope you can get some bookish inspiration!

top 5 travel reads

The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger: A Comfort Read

I read this book on my first ever flight. That’s scary: not really knowing how you’re going to cope with the plane and the busyness and the waiting. But, knowing how much I enjoy this read, I felt like I could slip away into this world even if I wasn’t liking the flight. So, top tip: take a comforting read with you if you’re a nervous flyer. It made all the difference for me.

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kahling: Fun on a First Long-Haul Flight

Man, long-haul isn’t fun. The movies are fun, the length of the flight is not. I knew I needed something mindless and funny to fill my time, and this was a really good companion! I had just finished my first binge of The Office and this was a great way to keep my love alive. It kept my attention and that was all I wanted.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon: Third Time Lucky

Before taking this on holiday with me, I had tried and failed to read this book. Somehow, on holiday, I managed to read it and LOVED it. The change of pace helped, I think. Plus, when a book is this beautifully written and intriguing, how can you not fall in love with it. Especially when it’s combined with sun-filled days and calmness.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell: Re-read on the Beach

Yet again with a comforting read, but I love to bring along a book I really like to read on holiday, just in case I’m too relaxed to read something new. Fangirl is perfect for this: just the right amount of drama, but basically just a lovely character driven story with a cute boy to boot. Love it!

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton: Read in One Plane RideĀ 

Lastly, the book I read in one sitting on a flight back from Florence. This book was action packed and fun filled, and the perfect book for a flight. I love to be engrossed when on a plane as it helps me forget about all the noises and other people. Just me and my beloved book. A great one if you want your attention filled!

***

There we go! The best books I’ve read whilst travelling so far! Since I’m off travelling again soon, do you guys have any recommendations for me?! I’m hoping to bring quite a few books along so any would be a bonus!

Ciao!

One thought on “My Top 5 Travel Reads!

  1. I want to travel the world some day too! Before this year I’d only been to Spain but this year I’ve been to Berlin and I’m going to Amsterdam this weekend which I’m so excited for! I’ve been wanting to read The Time Traveller’s Wife for ages, it’s one of my favourite films

    Like

Leave a Reply

