Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Stories Outwith the Western World!

Oh, what an interesting topic this week! Let’s see what books I’ve read and loved that take place outwith the Western World (USA/Western Europe) or setting inspired by the Western World.

*also, the books I’ve chosen may not match this title, but I found this one pretty tricky, so bear with me!

t5w-jul19-17

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

So this one is set literally out of this world, so I’m thinking this is a safe bet. I really enjoyed this book, even though its setting was really out of my comfort zone. But after reading this book, I feel like I’d be more comfortable reading books set in space, so I’m happy I did.

The Colour Purple by Alice Walker

I was just amazed after I read this book. It’s really powerful, and completely justified as a classic piece of literature. Seriously, go read this book if you haven’t already. I definitely learned a lot!

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

Because the world of Furthermore is made up, I figured this counted? I loved the world building in this novel – so fun and quite unique. The bright colours on the cover are perfect for the type of world in this novel, and it made me smile.

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hoseini

Another one of those authors that I’ll automatically buy, to be honest. He has such a way with words, and creates characters that end up meaning so much to you. But in terms of this T5W theme, the way he speaks of countries so far removed from what I’m used to, brings them right to my front door. He makes you confront the lives of those living there, which I think great books need to do. Read his work – you won’t regret it!

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

This is the one I’m most unsure of. I understand that this world is built around the idea of what could happen in the future, but as of just now – particularly the gaming parts – it seems pretty far removed from the Western World, I think. I’ve been saying I want to reread this book for the longest time, so I really need to do it soon.

***

Alrighty, so there we are. Some books set outside of the world we see so much in literature that have made an impression on me. If anyone has any suggestions, please send them my way! One of the reading goals I have for this year is to read ‘around the world’ more, and I’m realising that I’m failing with this goal at the moment!

Happy reading, everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

