Book Hauls

Austin Bookhaul!

austinbookhaul2
(c) Barbuto’s Guide to Underground Dance in Austin Texas

For those who don’t know, I’ve recently just returned from visiting a very good friend who now lives in Austin, Texas. It was a big trip – very far away from home – but I’m so glad I went! Because both myself (obviously) and my friend are very bookish, we visited quite a few bookstores/shops that sell books for good prices. I restrained myself, but did pick up a few books that I wanted to share with you all! So here they are!

austinbookhaul

Barnes and Noble

Because when in the US, can you really not go to B&N?

The View from the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman

Whilst there I attended a Neil Gaiman event – which was fantastic and I’ll definitely be doing a post about it soon – so I really had the Gaiman bug. I wanted to pick up something a little different from him, so this is a selection of essays about reading, writing and life. It sounds lovely, and something I’ll be able to dip in and out of.

The Book with No Pictures by B J Novak

I have wanted this book for so long! I thought I’d pick it up as a present to myself and to my new class, because I’m moving to the younger years after the holidays. We’re going to have a lot of fun reading this book together!

The Book People

Such a wonderful store filled with lots of gems! I’m so glad I visited this shop and believe me, it was really difficult to only pick up one book!

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Prachett

Again, at the event, Neil spoke of this book, of working with Terry Prachett and of the series that is being made. I was hooked. This is one of the only ‘novels’ I’ve yet to read, so I thought why not pick it up now?

Target

I had to, I just had to. Really good bargains, people!

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

I had heard of this book a while ago, right after the last season of Sherlock was aired, and it really intrigued me. I’m not too sure of the plot other than the characters are the descendants of the original Sherlock and Holmes, but since I’m a Sherlock fan, I’m sure it’ll be a fun ride!

SoCo Books

Such a find! What a lovely vibe this story had!

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

The friend that I was visiting raved about this book and said it was one of her absolute favourites. I’m always pleased to get a good recommendation, and since the movie will be coming out soon, I thought I’d pick it up and read it beforehand. I know this is going to be a heartbreaking read, but luckily I have a soft spot for those types of book.

***

There we have it! What a lovely selection of books. I love to pick up new reads in new places because it’s like an extra memory you can keep of your trip.

Bye!

 

Leave a Reply

