Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Second Book is Best!

So, I’m pretty sure I say this every T5W post, but this one is definitely tricky. I found it tricky because, even though I thought the opposite, I don’t seem to have read lots of series (and not that many to the end). So this is a short and sweet list, if not a little odd in it’s mixture of choices.

t5w-9aug-17

***Please note, I’ve linked the first book in the series instead of the second. I’d hate to give you spoilers!

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

Let’s start off with an obvious choice and one that’ll be on most people’s lists, I think. There are many things I liked about this book, but I feel it’s the strongest out of the three because you learn so much more about Feyre, you have a whole cast of more interesting characters coming into the mix, and it seems a truer portrayal that the others. It deals with so many important plot-points and themes, and is just a great stepping stone further into the Fae world.

Shopaholic Takes Manhattan by Sophie Kinsella

I couldn’t help but fling this in here, even though it’s not such a popular series – but it’s one of my guilty pleasures. Becky Bloomwood is a queen and don’t tell me otherwise. Even though this is a pretty big series (and is potentially still growing), I stopped at book 5. And whilst I loved lots of them and found them all hilarious and sweet, there’s something about the last book – probably the most angsty of the series – that I like best. I particularly like the ending of this book, and how Becky grows into a fuller person where her needs go first. If I want to reread a bit of this series, the end of this book is what I reach for.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Barudgo

This was a tricky one because I genuinely do love both books in this duology. However, I think the second one wins it for me because of the growth in the story and the characters. The second book gives us much more scope as readers into the drama, the schemes and the characters’ lives, and that always wins it for me. Plus, I love an ending where everything is tied off so nicely.

***

And that’s all she wrote. There are probably a few more that, when I read other peoples’ posts, I’ll kick myself for not including but I can’t think of them right now. Also, if anyone is reading a series they’re really loving, please tell me down below. I’m always on the hunt for a new series to love!

Ciao!

Leave a Reply

