Bookish

Comfort Reads for Right Now

lockdown comfort reads

I don’t know about you, but this lockdown has got me… well, down. Not every day, but some days I wake up and think ‘today is going to be a replica of all the other days this lockdown, so what’s the point?’. When I feel like that, I do what the bookish heart in me wants to do, and I pick up something to read.

There’s been lots of chat on Booktube and Bookstagram about lockdown (obviously) and it’s interesting to see how readers are coping during this time. Some people have said that they can barely read because they can’t concentrate or are too anxious. I’ve been feeling twitchy and anxious too, but for some reason I’ve been racing through books. Still, there’s been moments in the past six weeks where I’ve been eager to read, but have had absolutely no clue what to pick up.

So here’s a new post today – both for you and for me – to give us ideas for what to read when we’re itching to pick up a book. Sometimes, a book is all you need.

hp1

Pick Up A Cosy, Childhood Favourite: Harry Potter by J K Rowling

Is there anything better than going back to the childhood favourite when times are uncertain? No, there isn’t. I had a lovely, cosy time reading (or I should say re-listening, because the audio is just brilliant) this earlier this month, and fell back into all the Hogwarts goodness. Such a comfort read.

Pick Up A Quick Fix: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

If you’re feeling a little slumpy, I always feel that a read that you can fly through is the way to go, and what’s quicker than a graphic novel? My recommendation is this wonderful, queer graphic novel about found friends and being yourself. It’s got great characters, super plot and amazing illustrations. Such a nice way to escape life for an hour.

studyincharlotte

Pick Up An Exciting Mystery: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

I’ll be the first to admit, mystery novels aren’t always my thing. I’m a bit of a scaredy-cat. Mysteries as re-tellings though – I’m intrigued. And let’s be honest, if you are unsure what to read, you want something that’s gonna hook you in completely. This series, based upon the descendants of Sherlock and Watson, combines ya drama and classic mystery, and they are a whole lot of fun! Quite dark, but fun nonetheless.

Pick Up Some Short Stories: Meet Cute Anthology

Once again, something quick is a good way to go if you’re unsure what to read next. Maybe a short story anthology would be something to try! I’ve read a fair few YA anthologies over the last few years, but Meet Cute is by far my favourite. I’m a sucker for anything romantic, and this collection of first meetings from eventual couples is just so lovely. I’ve got a review of this here where I tell you my favourite stories from the collection, if you’re interested.

redwhiteandroyalblue

Pick Up Your Favourite, Fun Romance: Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston

Romance is one of my favourite genres, so of course I’ll drift over here when I need comfort. But even if you aren’t normally a romance reader, they are fun and quick and will probably get you back in the reading mood. This particular romance read was something that drew me in and kept me entertained the whole way through. Yes, it’s really hyped, but there’s a really good reason for that. Because it’s awesome.

Pick Up Some Words of Wisdom from a Favourite Person: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

There’s something so lovely about reading a biography from a person you love. It’s a completely different reading experience for me, but something I love to dip into every so often. It’s cosy to hear a familiar voice – whether in print or via audio. One of the best things about biographies, which I exclusively listen to on audio, is that they are almost always narrated by the author. For me, Amy Poehler is a goddess and genius, and I loved her biography. So good!

nevermoor

Pick Up An Escapist Middle-Grade: Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend

When I want something cosy and comforting, I immediately think of middle grade. It’s such a great genre for any age group, always lots of fun but equally doesn’t shy away from harder topics. The biggest reason I love this genre is the feeling of hope throughout most of the middle grades I’ve read. There’s just something lovely about that. Nevermoor is my ultimate favourite: part whimsy, part fantasy world, part wonderfully quirky cast of characters, part dark mystery, = whole lotta greatness! Pick it up if you haven’t already – here’s my review of the first book.

Pick Up A Classic You’ve Re-read a Hundred Times: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Finally, comfort to me equals ultimate favourites. Those books that you feel you could read with your eyes closed. Going back to characters you loved can settle your jumpy heart. Anything Jane Austen does that to me. So lovely!

***

There we go –  a few suggestions of types of books to read when you’re stuck (plus some of my favourite books thrown in!). I hope it’s been helpful, and also hope that you and the people around you are staying safe and well during this time.

Take care, everyone!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment