Monthly Wrap Ups

What I Read: June Wrap-Up 2020

EDUCATE & SUPPORT DURING THIS TIME:

*************************************************************************************

I cannot believe we are in July already! I’m still struggling a little to get into my reading groove once again – I’m reading in spurts and then not at all. Still, I managed to read some wonderful books this month, so here’s my list!

invisible differences

Invisible Differences (Graphic Novel) by Julie Dachez – 4 Stars

  • I received this ARC and really enjoyed it. I loved how it explored the autism spectrum through an own-voices narrative – see my full review here.

Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson – 5 Stars

  • I’m sad to say it took me this long to get to this novel. I’ve been meaning to pick it up for the longest time. A poignant novel exploring the life of a young, black teen and a mentorship program. Lots of excellent discussions in here! Read my full thoughts here.

the black flamingo

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta – 5 Stars!

  • I can’t quite put into words how lovely this book was – hence why my review is still being written. Written in verse, this book tells the story of a young queer man coming into himself and finding a community he loves. It’s the story we’ve all been waiting for – read it!

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates – 5 Stars

  • Written as a letter to his son, Ta-Nehisi talks of his experiences growing up as a black man in America, and what he wants for his son and his future. I cried and felt so much whilst reading this – a must read for educating yourself further on these important issues.

raven and dove

The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis – 3 Stars

  • The first book in a new YA fantasy series. I thought I would love this book but somehow it didn’t quite hit the mark for me. My full thoughts are here.

The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargreave – 4 Stars

  • Every time this author publishes a new book, I’m so itnrugied but it takes me so long to get to their books. I don’t know why! I’m so happy to have read this one though – it was exactly what I wanted: kinda dark, a bit unsettling, set in the cold, eerie lands of 1600s Norway, and ladies falling for ladies. Just great.

clap when you land

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo – 4.5 Stars

  • At this blog, we love an Elizabeth Acevedo novel. Every single one. This one was no exception. If you’re looking for a plot-driven narrative, this isn’t necessarily something I’d suggest you pick up. But if you want a deep look into character, family, love and connections to you home land – this is for you. Written in verse and each word is beautifully placed. So lovely.

The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse by Charlie Mackesy – 4 Stars

  • I had been on hold for this book from my library since February. So it was about time. But it was lovely – great illustrations, lovely thoughtful moments. The perfect pick-me-up and great if you just want to dip in and out and feel inspired.

allboysarentblue

All Boys Aren’t Blue by George M Johnson – 5 Stars

  • What a beautiful, important read. I learned so much about the black, queer experience reading this, and encourage you to pick it up yourself (once looking up the content warnings and checking in with yourself).

***

So many wonderful, thought-provoking books. I’d recommend you picking any of them up and educating yourself further like I’ve been trying to do. I’m determined to keep reaching for books that will help me educate myself further – it’s not just for this month, it’s a lifelong reading goal.

Here’s to more wonderful reads in July!

Leave a comment