Bookish

Best Audiobooks: Jan-Jun 2020!

best audio books jan-jun 2020

I’m a firm lover of audio books. I’ve regularly used audio books to compliment my reading for about three years now, and I’m a firm believer that this format can elevate some reading experiences. I think it stems from listening to books on tape as a child before I fell asleep; I find audio books so cosy and comforting.

However, there’s definitely some audio books that are better than others. I need a good narrator – someone with the correct tone who can differentiate between characters easily. I need a good production. I like an audio book that’s been well done.

So, without further ado, I’m gonna tell you about the best audio books I’ve listened to so far this year. I listen to my audio books using three different sources: Audible, Scribd and my own library. I find that all three give me a good range of audiobooks, but if I had to recommend only one paid for resource, it’d be Scribd. As for the books below, I’d recommend them all!

allboysarentblue

All Boys Aren’t Blue by George M Johnson

Narrated by George M Johnson

Scribd UK

If you’re going to read a memoir, always try and listen to one that’s narrated by the author. It always adds to the experience. You feel the emotion as they speak, and this audio book was no exception. This is a difficult, harrowing read, but listening to this instead of physically reading, really lifted this experience. Bloody brilliant!

thehouseintheceruleansea

The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune – read my review here

Narrated by Daniel Henning

Scribd UK

I loved listening to this via audio and I think it’s pretty much down to the narration. There was something about Daniel’s voice that added to the soft, curious nature of this story. I was completely drawn in and would listen for hours – adding laps to my daily walk – just so I could continue to listen more. If that’s not showing how much I loved this audio book, I don’t know what will!

redatthebone

Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson

Narrated by Bahni Turpin, Jacqueline Woodson, Peter Francis James, Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Shayna Small

Audible UK

What a wonderful book, and what a great listening experience. I don’t think I’ve ever disliked an audio book that includes a full cast narrative. It’s just the best way to listen. I completely applaud narrators who can voice multiple, distinct characters – what an amazing job they do – but there’s something extra special when a group of voice actors come together. Each voice was perfect and I loved listening to this story.

littlewomen

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott  

Narrated by Barbara Caruso

UK Library

I’m a big re-reader. I love revisiting old favourites, and so after loving the recent film adaptation, I had to re-read Little Women. I decided to go for the audio book this time and was so glad I did. Lovely narration and such a cosy way to consume this delightful story. Top Tip: use an audio book when reading a classic. I find it helps me slip easily into the language of classic lit, and I don’t find it as jarring that way.

governessgame

Girl Meets Duke Series by Tessa Dare

Narrated by Mary Jane Wells

Scribd UK

This series is my ultimate fun treat. They are some of the best historical romances I’ve read and every time I realise there’s another release, I save it for a rainy day and enjoy them via audio. The narrator is great, and you can completely escape the real world for a few hours with these. Such fun!

the binding

The Binding by Brigid Collins

Narrated by Carl Prekopp

Scribd UK

This moody historical fiction was perfect on audio, and I often listened and read along at the same time. The narrators voice was excellent – the deep rural English accent really added to the main characters voice. Even though there was only one voice actor, Carl managed to distinguish between characters well. I was completely drawn into this story.

***

If you’re looking for a new audio book to listen to, I’d recommend any of those above. I’m also always looking for new listens, so if you’ve enjoyed one recently, please tell me below!

Happy reading (and listening), friends!

Leave a comment